Saturday, May 19, 2018

HRH Prince Harry/Meghan Markle marriage

_. The marriage took place 19 May, 2018, at St George's Chapel, Windsor, between HRH Prince Henry Charles Albert David of Wales, KCVO (born 15 September, 1984), second son of HRH The Prince of Wales (b 14 Nov, 1948), by his first wife the former Lady Diana Frances Spencer (b 1 July, 1961, d 31 Aug, 1997), and Ms Rachel Meghan Markle (born 4 August, 1981), daughter of Thomas Wayne Markle (b 18 July, 1944), by his former second wife, Doria Loyce Ragland (born 15 September, 1956).

On the morning of his wedding it was announced that the Queen had conferred the Dukedom of Sussex, Earldom of Dumbarton and Barony of Kilkeel upon her grandson.

Under the terms of the Letters Patent of 1917 the children of this marriage will be known as Lord or Lady (Christian name) Mountbatten-Windsor. A first son will be known by his father's second peerage, Earl of Dumbarton.

In 1960 the Queen announced that any male line descendants not bearing royal styles and titles would bear the surname Mountbatten-Windsor.

On the succession to the throne of the Prince of Wales then all his male line grandchildren will all be HRH Prince/Princess, and Harry and Meghan's children will advance to this royal style and title.

However, the Queen may declare that the future children of the Duke and Duchess of Sussex will be Princes and Princesses with the prefix HRH. Her Majesty made a similar announcement in 2012 before the birth of Prince George, because only the eldest son of the eldest son of the Prince of Wales is entitled to the royal style and title under the terms of the 1917 letters patent. Without the Queen's intervention Princess Charlotte would have been Lady Charlotte Mountbatten-Windsor, and Prince Louis would be known as Lord Louis Mountbatten-Windsor.


No comments: